Investment Policy

Bangladesh offers the most congenial investment regime in South Asia. According to Industrial Policy 2016, Bangladesh welcomes foreign private investment in all areas of the economy and there is no restriction on the amount of share of the investment. Foreign investors are eligible to take advantage of a wide range of generous tax concessions and other fiscal incentives and facilities.

Foreign investment in Bangladesh is secure vis-à-vis nationalization and expropriation. The Foreign Private Investment (Promotion and Protection) Act 1980 ensures full protection to foreign investors. Furthermore, Bangladesh is a signatory to MIGA, OPIC, ICSID, WAIPA, WIPO and WTO. Bangladesh also has signed bilateral investment treaties with 32 countries for promotion and protection of investment: Austria, DPR Korea, Thailand, Belgium, Republic of Korea, UK, Canada, Malaysia, USA, China, Pakistan Uzbekistan, France, Poland, Vietnam, Germany, Romania, Singapore, Indonesia, Switzerland, Denmark, Iran, The Netherlands, India, Italy, The Philippines, UAE, Japan, Turkey, and Belarus.


To ease the investors from paying double tax Bangladesh has signed Avoidance of Double Taxation Treaty (DTT) with 28 countries: Canada, Poland, Norway, China, Romania, Turkey, Denmark, Singapore, Vietnam, France, Republic of Korea, Philippines, Germany, Sri Lanka, Indonesia, India, Sweden, Switzerland, Italy, Thailand, Oman, Japan, The Netherlands, Malaysia, UK.

Bangladesh has also signed multilateral and regional treaties such as APTA, BIMSTEC, IORA, SAPTA, SAFTA, SAFAS, COMCEC, TPS-OIC, Preferential Trade with D-8 Countries etc. to conveniently access market and investment opportunities.

In addition Bangladesh has signed trade agreements with 45 countries for trade facilitation among the countries.

Managed by Business Automation Ltd. On behalf of Bangladesh Investment Development Authority (BIDA)